Top health awards to Narrandera

Winners are grinners at the MLHD awards night in Wagga on Friday. Narrandera Health Service scored two awards. Unfortunately the other two Narrandera winners Victoria Davis and Nick Praestiin were unable to attend the ceremony.

Three Narrandera Health Service winners emerged among the Murrumbidgee Local Health District annual awards presentation at Wagga on Friday night.

Cluster Manager Narrandera, Lockhart and Urana Craig McColm won the Executive Director of Nursing and Midwifery Award; Victoria Davis was a joint winner in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander division and Nick Praestin was a joint winner in the Nursing and Midwifery Awards.

Mr McColm was the recipient of his award for the qualities he consistently demonstrates as a nurse leader.

He is committed to excellence and person-centred care and is passionate about his role and the work both he and his team do, but more importantly he is passionate about the care delivered to patients and families.

An excellent communicator he leads and supports his team with mentorship, coaching, education, encouragement and acknowledgement and these teams flourished under his leadership.

Mrs Davis took the lead in identifying a culturally suitable care “space” in Narrandera for Aboriginal women and their families away from the traditional hospital setting, under the Building Blocks for Life initiative.

MLHD Board Chair Gayle Murphy of Narrandera and the Rural Health Manager for NSW Health’s Agency for Clinical Innovation Jenny Preece.

Mr Praestin jointly won the Nursing and Midwifery Awards Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Clinical Nurse Education Award.

The 2017 Excellence Awards celebrated the initiatives of staff across the Murrumbidgee region and acknowledged the dedication and contribution exceptional employees made over the year.

The evening culminated in the presentation of the prestigious Don Kendell Memorial Leadership Award. This award is presented to a MLHD employee recognised as a role model through innovative leadership and outstanding contribution to health services in their area.

For the first time, the award was shared by joint winners:
• Mr Thomas Glanville, Wagga Wagga
Data analytics is a relatively new field in the public health sector and Mr Thomas has consistently demonstrated himself as a leader in this area in MLHD and is an excellent ambassador for both MLHD and NSW Health. He is an innovator and developer of solutions using data and infor-mation that identifies issues and opportunities on how to use that information to improve patient care and health outcomes.

• Dr Louis Baggio, Wagga Wagga
Dr Baggio has a sustained and strong commitment to improving patient care in WWRRH. He is committed to ensuring all patients have access to high quality services. Dr Baggio was the main driving force behind the development of the MLHD Rehabilitation Clinical Service Plan to improve the availability of services across the district. He has a respect for and dedication to supporting and inspiring rehabilitation clinicians, influencing positive change and enhancing rehabilitation services.

Michael Kidd, a radiologist at Leeton Hospital, was among the nominees.

Chief Executive Jill Ludford said the special award winners represented the 3800 staff from across the district who worked hard every day to make a difference to the lives of people in this region.

Be the first to comment on "Top health awards to Narrandera"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.