ProTen Victory

The ProTen Cup side was far too strong for Murray Cup in the representative match at Narrandera on Saturday. Photo: Rustty Lake-Connolly.

Narrandera’s depth of talent shone through in the ProTen Community Cup representative match with a solid win against Murray Cup on Saturday.

Coached by Narrandera’s Shaun Lyons, the ProTen side won convincingly 30-6 in front a strong crowd at the Narrandera sportsground.

Lizards Jamaine Morgan, Gary Ingram and Troy Prior all picked up players awards at the end of season ProTen presentations that evening.

The ProTen side comp-rised D’Andre Williams, Billy Vearing, William Hale, Jamaine Morgan, Wade Williams, Damian Walker, John Ingram, John Power, Laurie Sandford, Nick Johnson, Alex Brown, Kane Wilson, Billy Overall, Jamie Parsons, Michael Haines, Gavin Evans, Lachie Pengelly, Jock Potter, Rodney Evans, John Williams, Shaun Lyons, Jimmy McDermott, B J Corey, Jono Street, Nick Brett
and Josh Robertson.

ProTen dominated from the opening with Rankins Springs player Billy Vearing scoring in the first 10 minutes, with the conversion made by Goolgowi’s Billy Hale to result in a 6-0 lead.

Narrandera’s try scoring machine Jamaine Morgan crossed out wide with 11 minutes left in the first half, backed up by a successful conversion by Billy Hale to go into the half time break leading 12-0.

Narrandera’s full back D’Andre Williams opened the score for the second half, and Billy Hale was accurate with his boot to make it three from three to extend the lead to 18-0.

Murray Cups’ Justin Dradge scored a try and Jack Synnot successfully converted to get six points on the board for their side.

With eight minutes left on the clock, Narrandera’s Wade Williams scored, with Billy Hale making another successful conversion to bring the score to 24-6.

Billy Hale topped off his successful day at the office with a try and goal to bring the full-time score to 30-6.

D’Andre Williams was voted man of the match.

In the women’s nines match, the representative game was called off and replaced with a game between Ivanhoe and Narrandera. Ivanhoe took out the match 18-8 with Ivanhoe’s Tegan Quayle named player of the match.

Lizards vice-president and co-coach Troy Prior said Narrandera’s depth of young talent was obvious on the day.

Prior also paid tribute to the Lizards women players.

“Hopefully the women’s competition continues as it’s a good concept and considering ProTen is a family comp,” he said.

“To see a few Narrandera players pick up awards was a good end to the season,” he said. “Murray Cup came with a good side but we had a better side on the day, with everyone available.”

Prior said all Lizards senior players were on board for the 2020 season but hoped the younger players could go on to score Group 20 contracts.

“They are more than welcome to play here as most of us are 35 years plus,” he said.

Prior said the senior football needed to continue in Narrandera to maintain the more than 120 junior rugby league players registered.

The Narrandera Lizards presentation evening will be on September 7 at the Bowling Club.



Women’s 9s:
Top Try Scorer – Louisa Sim (Goolgowi)
Young Gun Award – Tegan Quayle (Ivanhoe)
Rising Star Award – Shelby Lyons-Kschenka (Narrandera)

Proten Community Cup 2019:
Player of the Year – Nicholas Johnson (Goolgowi)
Coach of the Year – John Michael Cahill and Alex Brown (Goolgowi)
Top Try Scorer – Jamaine Morgan (Narrandera)
Top Point Scorer – Damian Walker (Rankins Springs)
Match Official Award – Bryce Hickson (Narrandera)
Fullback of the Year Billy Vearing (Rankins Springs)
Winger of the Year – Vaughn Higgins (Goolgowi)
Centre of the Year – Jamaine Morgan (Narrandera)
Five-eighth of the Year – Gary Ingram (Narrandera)
Halfback of the Year – Ben Evans (Barellan)
Prop of the Year – Nicholas Johnson (Goolgowi)
Hooker of the Year – Laurie Sandford (Goolgowi)
Second-Rower of the Year – Michael Stalley (Hillston)
Lock of the Year – Troy Prior (Narrandera)

Be the first to comment on "ProTen Victory"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.