Carps’ stars receive awards

Some of the winners at the presentation Brent Lawrence, Dylan Whiteman, Dave Kroek, Jack Williamson, Rohan Rehwinkel (with son Fletcher), Jono Schofield and Brody Whiteman (kneeling).

It might have been a shock to Narrandera Carphead Brent Lawrence when he won the Peter Lawrence Clubperson of the Year Award at the club’s presentation of awards on Saturday afternoon, but not to many of his teammates who have known him over the years.

An emotional Lawrence was totally surprised to be handed the trophy and for once in his life he was almost stuck for words. The trophy is named in recognition of his father Peter’s contribution to the club as a long time supporter who performed many tasks with the club from when his son was a sub-junior cricketer up until Peter’s untimely death in 2005.

This year’s recipient of the award named in his honour has served on the Carpheads seniors executive since 2004 holding the roles of secretary and vice-president from the time he was 16 years old.

Brent Lawrence debuted in A grade cricket in 2002 and is possibly most capped Carphead of all time who is still playing 16 years later. He was a Leeton and District Cricket Association (LDCA) Board member for a total of eight years of his 16 year playing career.

At 17 years of age he won the Derek Rogers Memorial Trophy for outstanding contribution on and off the field to cricket in the LDCA. As a teenager he coached the town’s Milliken Shield teams and was a strong advocate and role model for junior cricketers. His passion for the game has remained relentless and he is a strong believer in nurturing junior players and encouraging them to progress their cricket careers but at the same time enjoy the game.

Lawrence was the inaugural winner of the CricketNSW Norman Callaway Medal for outstanding contributions to cricket. Other aspects of his distinguished cricket career at player and administration level including writing junior cricket columns for the Narrandera Argus while at Narrandera High School to help ensure these youngsters received encouragement and recognition. He has remained a regular contact for comments on local cricket stories.

On the field he has played countless games for the Narrandera club and has played numerous representative games in O’Farrell and Creet Cup and further afield. However, the recognition on Saturday was for his devotion to the game and the club and he was humbled that his peers would honour in him this way.

“It was all the more special because it was an award in honour of my Dad and he was my role model,” Lawrence said.

Carphead of the Year Jono Schofield with daughter Kiki.

Narrandera B grade Carphead Jono Schofield capped off an impressive 2017-18 season for the Carpheads by taking out the Carphead of the Year Award at the club’s annual presentation of awards at the Charles Sturt Hotel on Saturday afternoon.

The previous night Schofield won the B Grade Cricketer of the Year and the batting aggregrate and average awards at the Leeton District Cricket Association awards night. Several other Carpheads also took home awards from the LDCA presentation. They were:

A Grade:

  • Rohan Rehwinkel – Bowling Aggregate
  • Mick Foster – Bowling Average
  • James Sullivan – Most Catches

B Grade:

  • Dave Kroek – Bowling Aggregate and Average
  • Connor Vearing – Most Catches

LDCA Junior Rep Awards: Warren Smith Cup (Under 16s): Bowling Award went to Jack Williamson.

Major award winners at the Narrandera presentation the following day were:

A grade:

  • Batting aggregate: Brent Lawrence 279 runs
  • Batting average: Mick Foster 205 runs @ 29.29
  • Bowling aggregate:Rohan Rehwinkel 28 wickets
  • Bowling average: Mick Foster 16 wickets @ 9.31
  • Captains award: Jack Williamson.

B grade:

  • Batting aggregate: Jono Schofield 572 runs
  • Batting average: Jono Schofield 572 runs @ 57.20
  • Bowling aggregate:Dave Kroek 27 wickets
  • Bowling average: Dave Kroek 27 wickets @ 7.85
  • Captains award: Connor Vearing

C grade:

  • Batting aggregate: Dylan Whiteman 94 runs
  • Batting average: Dylan Whiteman 94 runs @ 15.67
  • Bowling aggregate:Dylan Whiteman 6 wickets
  • Bowling average: Ben Graham 5 wickets @ 12.40
  • Managers award: Brody Whiteman
  • Carphead of the year: Jono Schofield
  • Peter Lawrence Memorial Clubperson of the Year: Brent Lawrence

Be the first to comment on "Carps’ stars receive awards"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.