NPS Zone Champions

Pictured at the LNPSSA gala day held in Narrandera are the winning NPS girls team, the NPS boys team and Narrandera High School umpires. They are (back from left) Myles Rankin, Cody Hands, Harry Sergeant, Beljohn Atkinson-Johnson, Hannah Beer, Skye Hutchison, Blake Lawrence; (middle from left) Thomas Choy, Jaida-Lee Lyons, Zahli Ivanoff, Tameika Charles-Bamblett, Jayne Saunders, Ella Richens, Charlie Brooker; (front from left) Ethan Lyons, Mackayla Longford, Thomas Lyons, Ky Bloomfield, Zara Hands and Jett Eldridge. Photo contributed.

The Narrandera Public School girls basketball team are the 2020 Janet Hugo Shield recipients and Leeton Narrandera PSSA basketball champions.

The NPS team won the shield and zone title at a gala held recently at Narrandera Stadium involving teams from Parkview Public School, Leeton Public School and a combined Small Schools team.

Narrandera girls defeated Parkview and Leeton to win the title.

In their first game, Narrandera had a 40-10 victory over Parkview with Jaida-Lee Lyons playing a strong game scoring seven baskets and Tameika Charles-Bamblett scoring six.

Leeton Public School defeated Small Schools to earn their place to play off against Narrandera.

In the final Narrandera had a 52-4 win with all players contributing around the court.

Hannah Beer accepted the Janet Hugo Shield from LNPSSA President Mr Travis Irvin.

The Narrandera PS girls team comprised Ella Richens, Tameika Charles-Bamblett, Charlie Brooker, Zahli Ivanoff, Hannah Beer, Jaynie Saunders, Jaida-Lee Lyons, and Skye Hutchison. They now progress into the next round of the state-wide competition with their opponents still to be determined.

Five of the Narrandera girls were also selected in the zone team to attend the Riverina trials in Albury in March. They were Hannah Beer, Jaida-Lee Lyons, Zahli Ivanoff, Tameika Charles-Bamblett and Skye Hutchison.

In the boys competition at the Narrandera Stadium, the NPS boys had a great first up win again Parkview 45-16. The team shared the ball around well with every player scoring at least one basket.

The boys came up against tough competition in their second game against Leeton Public School going down 53-29 despite their best efforts.

Leeton Public School were named LNPSSA boys zone basketball champions.

The boys team comprised Myles Rankin, Harry Sergeant, Beljohn Atkinson-Johnson, Jett Eldridge, Blake Lawrence, Thomas Choy, Cody Hands, Ethan Lyons.

Two of the Narrandera boys, Cody Hands and Beljohn Atkinson-Johnson were also named in the boys zone team, to also attend the Riverina trials in Albury in March.

The zone gala day at Narrandera stadium was supported by Narrandera High School with four students, Zara Hands, Thomas Lyons, Ky Bloomfield and Mackayla Longford, providing a high standard of umpiring on the day. Their outstanding efforts were recognised by Mr Irvin.

Leeton are the boys team to progress to the next round of the boys competition.

Be the first to comment on "NPS Zone Champions"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.